.com

Don’t you love Google & Wikipedia?  I do, and use them often.

If ever I pose a question I know I can find an answer/answers until I am satisfied.  Or until it leads me to the next intetesting bit of information. I am OK with that.

Today is the 31st anniversary of .com.

How I  came to know this, you ask? I came across a website with the address of colin.io.  Had not seen the ‘io’ before but searching found:

.io

The Internet country code top-level domain(ccTLD) .io is assigned to the British Indian Ocean Territory.[1]

The .io domain is administered by the Internet Computer Bureau, a domain name registrycompany based in the United Kingdom.[2]

Google‘s ad targeting currently treats .io as ageneric top-level domain (gTLD) because “users and webmasters frequently see [the domain] more generic than country-targeted”.[3]

If you were like me your next question would be, “What encompasses the British Indian Ocean Territory? Indian Ocean, I get, but where exactly is this territory ?” Thanks to those lovely blue links that wink at me and whisper, “More? You want more intetesting tidbits to complete the puzzle?” Yes! Yes! I find:

The British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) is an overseas territory of the United Kingdomsituated in the Indian Ocean halfway betweenTanzania and Indonesia. The territory comprises the seven atolls of the Chagos Archipelago with over 1,000 individual islands – many very small – amounting to a total land area of 60 square kilometres (23 sq mi).[5] 

And they have a lovely flag

Screenshot_20170315-164826
British Indian Ocean Territory

That is  .io for you. And BIOT. And lovely flags that entice me to come visit.

And colin.io . He sounds pretty interesting. Author, blogger, speaker, world traveler and much more. He started me on this search journey today. Thank you, Colin!

One thought on “.com”

Leave a Reply

